The majority ruled independent states of southern Africa that comprise SADC are Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Each member state has been assigned an area of responsibility by SADC. These areas of responsibility are given in the table below;

Country Area of Responsibility
Angola Energy
Botswana Agricultural Research, Livestock Production and Animal Disease Control
Lesotho Water, Environment and Land Management
Malawi Inland Fisheries, Forestry and Wildlife
Mauritius Tourism
Mozambique Culture and Information; and Transport and communications
Namibia Marine Fisheries & Resources
South Africa Finance and Investment
Swaziland Human Resources Development
Tanzania Industry and Trade
Zambia Mining
Zimbabwe Food, Agriculture and natural Resources

Copyright Chris Lungu, SACCAR, Private Bag 00108, Gaborone, Botswana email address: